Unplugged

Disclaimer: Not a creative post. Not even a typical Paper Rainbow post, but a very important question needs to be addressed.

I used to only own 5 CDs.. They were as follows:
1. Matchbox 20
2. Cowboy Mouth
3. Romeo & Juliet Soundtrack
4. Tupac
5. Eric Clapton Unplugged

Needless to say, Unplugged was my favorite with Cowboy Mouth running a close second. That kind of unplugged has nothing to do with my unplugged, just a little info about moi.

I have been planning the wedding. In this I have learned three things:

1. Planning a wedding. It is not fun. There is a lot of emotion. I am a control freak. I have planned events before, but this, oh this, there is too much emotion. I love my fiance. Seriously he is the best thing on this planet in my eyes. He is also both driving me crazy and the only thing keeping me sane at this point. I think the look a bride has when she locks eyes on her groom walking down the aisle is really relief. Relief that at this point all the what-ifs in wedding planning is over. At this point all she has to do is be married that the amazing man waiting for her at the end of the aisle.

2. Dress shopping is not a picnic. I have hips. Like really big, meant for baby linebacker hips. I didn’t get it from my mom. I may have gotten them from my dad, but I am quite positive no one described his hips as “child bearing.” That would be weird. Sample sizes in dress shops are not meant for hips. I am supposed to get all teary eyed over a dress that is clipped to me with the same clips that I use to keep my potato chips fresh. Please. Thank you wedding dress industry for making me feel like I am the size of the woolly mammoth.

3. Because of everything that me and my family have gone through planning this wedding, I want the guests present and more importantly I don’t want the first pictures that the world sees to be from your cell phone.I want you to be there. Our guest list was widdled down to the bones. I want intimate. I want my family to know his family that is now our family (phew that’s a mouthful). I don’t want people instagraming, status updating, checking in, tweeting. I don’t want the day that I marry my little white knight to be widdled down to 160 characters or less. Furthermore, I put photography at number 2 priority (number 1 being “Marry Ben”). The pictures I am investing thousands in are lasting a lifetime. They will outlast the instagram post or the facebook status. They are my investment and how I make this one day last a lifetime. I chose my photography based on this. I don’t want my guests ruining those very pricey pictures with their cell phone shot. I want to unplug from the rest of the world for a day, so that I can focus on my guests and my groom. I would hope that my guests would want to celebrate in the day and respect my desires as well.

I posted a question regarding this on facebook. I was floored on how many people said, “That’s great, but you are going to have a hard time getting guests to respect your wishes.” Really?! Aren’t they coming to celebrate my wish to join families? Why wouldn’t they respect my “no social media wish.” Last time I checked no emergencies happen online. I can understand having the phone with you, but really, my guests are going to have a hard time not taking pictures and not posting?

I suppose there is not good answer for this or any particular resolution. I am just curious as to how many have made a similar request for their wedding and what the result was.

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

Leave a Reply

