The Burpee Ain’t So Bad

78179743502070082_lWRZVzzY_cI have tossed around in my head all the ways to express my thoughts on the terrible Tragedy in Newtown, CT. First and foremost let me say, my heart goes out to each and everyone of the victims family and friends. My heart goes out to every employee at Sandy Hook. My heart goes out to each first responder. My heart goes out to the town. My heart goes out to every parent that sent their child to school. My heart goes out to the parents of children with special needs.

You see, I had planned on Monday doing a post about all the things I hate about working out, burpees, lunges, jumping squats, etc. Friday it shed a light on how those may not be the worst things in the world, certainly not enough to hate. I had planned on sharing my frustrations with my lack of losing inches, but again, a couple extra inches didn’t seem to be the worst thing that could happen. Certainly not worth a post. So instead, I decided to share my experience with the shock and the gut wrenching stories of bravery and loss, cause at the end of the day, the burpee just ain’t so bad.

When this event broke to the rest of the world, I was appalled. I was sad. I was sad for the victims and town and I was sad for a child who was so angry and disturbed he felt pulling off this tragedy was a necessary step. I then thought about my mom. I thought about every kid she has taught (as the class she is teaching right now will be her last). I thought about the kids she taught many years ago in an “at risk class.” I thought about every fight I saw in the hallways and how that level of violence broke my heart. I thought about the time my high school boyfriend showed up to my house with a black eye cause he got in a fight, because of me. When I see a kid get bullied at the park or pushed off a swing, my heart breaks. I do not understand knowingly inflicting harm or hurt on another human being. It is something that has, and I hope, will always break my heart. Then the million dollar question hit me. “Where are we safe?”

My mom used to tell me, “just wait till you’re a mom. You’ll worry just the same.” when she said this, it was in reference to a missed curfew, or trips to NOLA, any countless stupid things I did, late night trips out alone, plane rides to Cali, etc. the list never included me going to school. I was safe in the classroom. I was learning to be a friend. I was learning reason and analytic. I was growing. The teachers didn’t have to worry of protecting my life, they focused on enhancing my future.

I’m 30 years old and not a mom. I, however, worry about my mom going to work at one of the best schools in Louisiana. I worry about my brother going to class on campus. I worry my children will not get to have jumping contests of swings at recess. I worry school will not be the safe haven it was for me. I didn’t want to go to school cause I didn’t do my homework, not because I was afraid of a bullet.

At the end of the day all this worry, as Baz Lurhmann so eloquently put it, is about as useful as solving algebra by chewing bubble gum. There simply must be a solution in here somewhere.

Last month our country was divided 50/50 over a presidential election. I watched people threaten violence, petitions to secede, friends say the most hateful things to friends. I watched countless facebook status regarding the best solution. Then something happened. A 20 year old child walked into a school after shooting his mother while she was sleeping and killed 27 innocent people, 20 of them children. For just a few hours after we all dropped all of our political differences and mourned together. Slowly but surely though we, as a country, found a way to segregate ourselves from one another. We found a way to pass judgement on each other, living and dead. We found a way to use the loss of precious lives, not even a week later, as evidence towards our political agenda. Then our president, who half the country despises, spoke in Newtown. For a little sliver in time, we came together once again and rallied behind a town of Americans of people. Then we went on with our rants and anger. We started the hateful name-calling and judgement. It has been heartbreaking t0 watch on so many levels.

We are a country of various political and religious beliefs. I am not here to create a spiritual path for anyone, but I am here to be a voice to the greatest good I have ever known. I am by no means a perfect Christian, in fact, I may not even be a good one. I am a human, I sin. In fact I have many regrets in this lifetime over my sins. I have broken hearts. I have broken spirits. I have been on the giving and receiving end of verbal attacks. I have been called every name in the book. I have lied and been lied to. I have kept quiet when I should have spoke up and spoke up when I should have stayed quiet. With all this said, this tragedy struck a chord. It was a gigantic stone thrown in a pond that caused ripples that turned into an ocean of waves.

I know we are humbled. I know we are hurt. I know we are angry. But for all this to stop, we have to start supporting each other. When tiny day to day troubles arise, my friends, my gym buddies, my boss, my family, they rally to pick me up. A handful of people make this huge difference in my life when I bottom out on a diet or feel like I can’t do another burpee. What if we applied the same support and love to each other? What if there were more words of love and support being spoken verbally and behind the confines of our computer screen? Imagine how awesome that would be. We can implement all the control and laws in the world, but until we follow a little rule that some of us know as the “Golden Rule” and others know as Mark 12:31, “Love thy neighbor as you love thyself. There is no greater commandment than these,” we are merely applying invisible walls and boundaries. When we start showing love to each other, we remove a huge mountain of hate, rage, and hurt, also known as motive for crimes against humanity.

God gave us many things, but the greatest is love. Give it. Receive it. Give it again.

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

3 responses to “The Burpee Ain’t So Bad

  1. I comment whenever I especially enjoy a post
    on a site or I have something to contribute to the discussion.
    It’s a result of the passion displayed in the article I looked at.
    And after this article The Burpee Aint So Bad | paper rainbows.
    I was excited enough to drop a thought 😉 I actually do have 2 questions for
    you if it’s okay. Is it just me or does it give the impression
    like some of these responses come across as if they are coming from brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are posting on other social sites, I would like to keep up with anything new you have to post.
    Would you list the complete urls of your shared sites like your
    twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  2. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is excellent, as well as
    the content!

Leave a Reply

