Free Agent Status

20121203-121055.jpg
Disclaimer: I get excited when I write. I type a lot slower than my brain thinks and therefore there are typos…you’ll learn to love it. Moving on.

With all the changes happening I have not been cooking like I should. It’s true. I am on the road daily, so I live off bought lunches and leftovers. I make sure to only eat at places where two things can happen:
1. I know what they are putting in their food the best I can. Some of my favorites are: Jolie’s Louisiana Bistro, St. Street Inn, Zeus, Romacelli(careful with the pasta here, baked fish is where it is at), Acme Taco, Taco Sisters, and Cochon.
2. I will have leftovers or I can split with someone.

This works out well, but gets rather pricey. With cooking, however, I have to consider the same thing. Will whatever I cook reheat well or be good the next day? If not, it is cheaper for me to get it from a restaurant.

Sunday I was feeling pretty blue about all the crud I had eaten all weekend. When I am feeling blue, no matter the reason, I want food. Good “rib sticking” food. I decoded I wanted a good, hearty soup. Chili seemed to be the winner. I have never made chili…ever.

I sat in my car at the grocery for a good long while. Researching recipes. Looking up healthy subs. Deciding just how much meat I wanted in my chili. I knew I wanted a good hearty helping that would keep me full. I asked my mom if she had any recipes. I finally created my own little chili player that was trained by all other chili recipes.

20121203-123845.jpg
I’m no chili expert, So there was only one thing to do…invite the jury over for verdicts.
Mr. Glover fancies himself a chili lover and has experienced dozens of different chili recipes over the course of his lifetime. After bowl number four of my Free Agent Chili, I was feeling pretty good.

Problem, I don’t think I could ever quite recreate the recipe exactly. There came a point that I was just throwing veggies and flavors in the pot, but this is my best attempt.

Free Agent Chili

1 pound 97/3 extra lean ground beef
1 pound ground turkey
6 cups of diced tomatoes or (2) 28oz cans of diced tomatoes with juice
1 6oz can of tomato paste
1 cup diced onion
1 diced bell pepper
1/2 cup diced celery
Half can of pale beer (I used Tin Roof Blonde Ale)
2 tsp cumin
1/4 cup chili powder
2 1/2 cups of black beans (drain if from can)
2 1/2 cups of red kidney beans (drain if from can)
3 cloves minced garlic
Salt to taste
Cayenne pepper to taste
Cochon Sweet Potato Habanero Hot Sauce (seriously the best hot sauce known to man available only at Cochon locations in the greatest cities known to man, New Orleans and Lafayette, LA)

1. Turn your crock pot on high or burner and stockpot to medium. Throw in the trinity(onion, bell pepper, and celery) tomatoes, cumin, chili powder, garlic, and half can of beer. Move on.
2. In skillet brown turkey. Drain and transfer to crock pot or stockpot.
3. In skillet brown ground beef. Drain and transfer to crock pot or stockpot.
4. Stir in rest of measured ingredients and let simmer for an hour or so. Check on ever 20 minutes, stir around.
5. Remove spoon from drawer and sample. Need some salt and spice? This is when I slowly add in the cayenne. I don’t like things too terribly spicy. I added approximately 3 palms of cayenne. I only added about 2 pinches of salt. Let simmer for another 30 minutes or so.
6. Repeat tasting. Add spice or salt you think necessary. This is when I added 1/2 a bottle of the Cochon Hot Sauce..this seriously changed the whole ball game and rocked the socks (or toms) right on off my feet.
7. At this point let it simmer on low for however long you want. The total cooking time was about 2 hours till I felt it was done. As with any soup…always better the next day.

Now, the nuts and bolts of it all, the nutrition. I did an approximate nutrition fact of the whole recipe. This serves approximately 12 people with a good bowl for all. This doesn’t include any garnishes you may desire.

Nutritional Semi-Facts (per serving)

  • Calories 222
  • Total Fat 4.5 g     Saturated Fat 1.4 g     Polyunsaturated 0.1 g   Monounsaturated 0.2g     Trans 0g
  • Cholesterol 48.3g
  • Sodium 331.2mg
  • Potassium 388.0mg
  • Total Carbs 21.5g      Dietary Fiber 5.9g     Sugars 6.9g
  • Protein 21.3g
  • Vitamin A 21.0%
  • Vitamin C 49.1%
  • Calcium 8.3%
  • Iron 19.3%

Again the above is an estimate based on what I put in and plugged into my recipe creator on My Fitness Pal.

Bon Appetite! and lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

You can follow my little adventure on twitter and insta.gram. Username: @whitlgarland Hashtag: #heregoeseverything Also if you are on My Fitness Pal, I would love to follow each other! My username is whitlgarland.

One response to “Free Agent Status

  1. Hi admin do you need unlimited articles for your page ?
    What if you could copy post from other websites, make it pass copyscape test and publish on your page – i know the right tool for you, just type in google:

    kisamtai’s article tool

Leave a Reply

