Survival

20121122-230019.jpg
Look the holidays are tough to make it through without gaining 5-10 pounds. Shoot I normally just aim to survive the holidays. I learned today they are even tougher when you’re surrounded by starchy carbs and sugar at every corner. When I woke up this morning I had no desire to pay attention to what I was putting in my body. In fact, when my mom asked if I had any requests for food, I asked for crawfish pies. It never crossed my mind that my request cut out any real hope of protein…there-in lies the problem. My brain has not quite caught up with my goals.

I read somewhere today, “a goal without a plan is just a wish.” I have many wishes to be: healthy, skinny, strong, fast, athletic, fit, etc, etc, but I never laid out the plan. My plan has been a lot of giving up. Giving up coke. Giving up cupcakes. Giving up cream and sugar in the coffee. All positive changes, but not a plan.

So here I was, getting out of bed on thanksgiving and I realized I didn’t have the option for the gym. I’m not gonna lie, a bit of panic came over me. It went a little like this: “I gave up coke! I could not lose all this hard work on one day. I have to counteract the food. I’m down 3 inches in my hips. I have to counteract the food. Oh God, the food! I suggested crawfish pies(my favorite) and my brother suggested potatoes and cheese fries… I gave up cokes. That can not be on vain!” By this point my head is spinning. Maybe this was my head catching up. Maybe it was reading that the average American consumes 4500 calories on Thanksgiving. Maybe it was learning that most gain 7-10 pounds in the holidays. Whatever it was, I was letting it happen. My head had to catch up. I had to make a plan. Thanksgiving was as good a time as any to make a plan, but first…

20121122-233445.jpg
It started with a friendly challenge to my brother, ten to one style. Then a walk around the neighborhood with the pooches. Then suicide runs with Sproles (my dog, not the New Orleans Saint…damn that would have been awesome). I felt good. I could take on this carb overload. I opened up My Fitness Pal, I logged the 2 cinnamon rolls and looked up the rest of the day. If I was good, I could stay balanced. I wasn’t…

So a plan had to be made.
1. Gym 3x per week.
2. Record ALL food. Everyday.
3. Measure every Monday.
4. 3x3x3 life. Thirds of protein, carbs, and fat.
5. Breakfast everyday.
6. Water. Water. Water.

Goal: Size 10 by New Year.

Take that holidays and statistics. I will do more than survive the holidays. Here goes everything.

Lifetimes of paper rainbows….W

You can follow my little adventure on twitter and insta.gram. Username: @whitlgarland Hashtag: #heregoeseverything

Leave a Reply

