Fitness Test + Moose Munch

Who knew Fitness and Moose munch could share a post, but alas they do.

Back in January of 2012 I did a fitness test with my dear friend Justin. The fitness test was a 10 to 1 that consited of: 10 push-ups, 10 sit-ups, 10 squats, then 9 of each, then 8, all the way down to 1. The first time I did this my time was 13 minutes and some change. On Friday, November 16, 2012 my time was 5 minutes and 44 seconds. This decrease of time is due in some small, tiny part to my dedication to the gym. My dedication is on average 1 time per week. It is due in another small part to my weekly participation in kickball, football, softball, or any other random playground sport. It is due largely to the small changes I have made in my diet most recently. No cokes being the primary. The majority of this success can be attributed to my growing competitiveness. There was a gentlement performing the same test right next to me. I knew he took the first test at the same time I did, I had one goal, beat him. I didn’t, he smoked me. I lost my speed in the sit-ups. I can power through push-ups. I can beast mode through squats, breaking parallel each and every time, but man anything that requires core strength kills me. None the less, this success was motivating and exciting. I decided to celebrate. I made Moose Munch (logical, I know).

Moose Munch is one of my favorite little delights from Harry and David. I do not have Harry or David’s recipe, but I did find a recipe for something similar on the world wide web over at Something’s Wanky.

20121119-111741.jpg
I modified a couple of things. I added a little less corn syrup and a tad more brown sugar. I also only used a bag of pop corn and added a cup of dry roasted peanuts.

20121119-111955.jpg
My finished product wasnt nearly as beautiful as the original. My suggestions:

  1. Mix the caramel mixture in a bowl, not on greased pan. 25% of my moose munch is still stuck to the pan.
  2. Use a rubber spatula to mix and I sprayed my with a little bit of oil.
  3. Mix the popcorn & peanut mixture little by little.
  4. Let cool 10 minutes before putting the chocolate chips on.

I plan on doing a variation of this for holiday gift baskets, Eskimo Munch….stay tuned.

While this was not the best way to celebrate a successful fitness test time, moderation was key, and most of the fun was cooking it.

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

Leave a Reply

