Eighty Percent

I am a 80% person. I learned in college where the scales are at 10 point intervals that an 80% is a B. With a “B” I was a hop, skip, and a jump away from an “A.” I very quickly learned that in subjective majors, I could find out exactly what it took to get the “A” work wise, and roll with it. I also learned that “B” work could very easily be “A” work with the right PR in place. With the right PR if I was taking 8 classes, and I got a “B” in all 8, well, I could in the course of a semester take 4 of those and turn them right around into a bright shiney “A.” Thus putting me on directors list. I was only sad I learned this my last 2 years of college. I was very happy to learn that life, can be quite the subjective major. There is a huge problem with the 80% theory, the 20% of crap I have in my life that distracts me from the “A,” can be quite overwhelming.

You see I talk a lot. I like to fancy myself an open book. For goodness sakes, I put stories of myself online. I have had one goal in this life, one goal and I knew I would have made it, I want someone to tell my story. Sounds vain, I know, but I guess I figure this. You never know what is going to happen in this world. My dad died when I was just over 1-year-old, but he wrote, he wrote of his adventures logging, he wrote of politics, and people wrote about him when he was gone. When I read my dad’s articles, it’s his voice. I like to compare it to the great southern narrative. We have a story to tell, because our ancestors, shared theirs. So I write, talk, and share, but only 80%, the bright shiny 80%. 20% of my story is really, really rusted and rough and not so good. So it gets me wondering…at what point does the 80% go the other way. At what point does the “B” slip to the “C.”

I know when I look in my life that the 20% is what has shot me from a size 4 to a size 16 in 10 years. I know the 20% is what has left me with no savings to call my own. I know the 20% is all the things I try desperately to keep under lock and key. I know that the 20% is what I hope will never get told or written about me. My dad had good PR…I know he was flawed, but when people write about him, I get the feeling that he took over a room with an energy that glowed. That he gave the best, most gigantic hugs. I get the feeling that he laughed gigantically and it was infectious. He told his story and someone told his, and his legacy lives on, even if they told only 80% of the story. My dad had good PR. I am 30 years old. My dad was 32 when he died. If he can turn a “B” to an “A” in his daughter’s eyes and the people who told his story in 32 years, I should be able to as well, but for the first time, I kinda want to earn it, and not have good PR.

So what would constitute an “A?” If someone told 100% of my story, if I told my story, would it be an “A” story? I ask myself this aver and over again. This is what I got.

1. I must have a savings account. I have none and this is getting a bit out of control. I don’t spend money like I used to and I am still not saving it.

2. I want to be able to run, to play, to walk up stairs without panting. This means I have to cut the fat and cook the brisket. Literally.

3. I need to be back in normal weight range. I am considered “obese” right now. True story. I have a BMI of 41%. If my fat were in a presidential election, I would only need 10% more to win. This is scary. It is overtaking my body.

4. I want to be able to take a vacation a year. I want to enjoy it. I want to not worry about how much it costs.

5. I need to Do Good 100% of the time. I need to always be representative of things that help others who can’t help themselves. I need to be a voice for those without one.

6. I want to be able to run in 5K’s without being terrified I will not be able to finish of finish last.

I am not doing any of these things 100%. I do them all 80% and hope and pray that good PR, gets me to the “A.” My waistline says otherwise. My lungs say otherwise. My bank account says otherwise. My vacation days say otherwise. I am pretty sure my college philosophy, lost its charm at about the age of 20 years old…I just wore it out for another decade.  Time to do work.

Here Goes Everything.

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

You can follow my little adventure on twitter and insta.gram. Username: @whitlgarland Hashtag: #heregoeseverything

Post Script: In the past week, since my last post, I have lost 1″ in my hips, 1″ in my waist, 1/2″ in my thigh. This is because I gave it 80%. Imagine, 100%. Worth celebrating, of course, but I know I can do better.

2 responses to “Eighty Percent

Leave a Reply

