Perfect Gumbo…

I have thought about this post over and over again.  Is there such a thing as the perfect gumbo?  Many moons ago I wrote this little post about my first gumbo experience.  I cooked for 20. It turned out spectacular and I was able to eat the gumbo for weeks later in frozen portion packs. The next time I made gumbo for 6, this was a much more achievable feat.  Each time the gumbo was a bit better.  I have whipped up gumbo only two times in my little southern life. Each time a long adventure that takes hours of simmering and at least a day of planning.  Sunday I decided to change it up a little bit.

I had some leftover chicken, a little bit of roux and gravy. Of course I had the holy trinity in my freezer chopped and pre-portioned.  I had chicken stock.  I had rice.  I had cayenne, paprika, and all the other essentials.  The only thing I was missing was andouille sausage, but I had some chicken sausage. By golly I was going to make some make-shift gumbo!

This time I did it by feel, smell, and taste.  I decided to break the rules of my past two gumbo experiences and not use a recipe.  Skip ahead four hours, it was amazing!

I really couldn’t tell you how I made it, I just started throwing things in a pot.  If I felt like it was too thin I whipped up some more roux.  I let it simmer for about 3 hours once all ingredients were in pot and just enjoyed the smell.  It was my favorite kitchen crEATion and Sunday Funday to date.  Till next time.

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

Leave a Reply

