chinese bandits

There was a time from 2000 to 2003 that a little girl attended a university and she had no clue what she was getting into.  When I got there, I met a boy.  The boy was a football fan like no other and he brought me into a world that was full of beer, parties, and more importantly lots and lots of FOOTBALL.  We traveled to Atlanta, Georgia and watched a sea of cocky Rocky Top fans get shot down and the good ole rocky top song was silenced for at least one night.  I moved a year later and watched the my team win a championship on a TV 3 hours north of Baton Rouge.  Three years later. I watched them win again in a bar 4 hours west of Baton Rouge.  I always knew the game enough to follow, but never enough to argue and that was enough for me. 

I live in a part of the country where there are no real weather seasons.  We have two weather seasons: Summer and Fall.  The year however is separated into other seasons: There is Crawfish season, Hunting Season, Watermelon Season, Festival Season, to name a few, most overlapping, but in the south I would argue the most anticipated season, (followed closely by crawfish) is FOOTBALL SEASON. This is a diddy about that season…kinda.

I searched many a years for the perfect LSU shirt.  I went through the standard gray shirts with LSU written on them.  I went through some gold shirts, some jerseys, but it wasn’t until I found my chinese bandit at Dirty South that I knew I found my best LSU shirt to date.  It was perfect.

Chinese bandits: You see in 1958 Coach Paul Dietzel named the defense the “Chinese Bandits.” In 1959 the defense held their opponents to an average of only 143.2 yards per game helping to secure them their first national title.  Now whenever LSU forces a turnover or gets the ball back from a defensive stop the Golden Band from Tigerland plays the Chinese Bandits tune.  Tiger Fans bow to the defense. This is a shirt I can get behind. 

The question then became how to sport it.  I have tried many looks since the inception of the shirt.  It’s about perfectly tailgating.  I have sported the backpack and high life trucker hat with of course my gold earrings. Then the look evolved into something of the shirt with a gold scarf.  Something magical happened last time I was wearing the shirt.  Someone had a Chinese Bandit hat!  I sported it.  It’s true.  The look was complete.  So now of course, I am in the process of finding the perfect chinese bandit hat. One thing that had always remained along with the shirt was the combo of the shirt with the chillable red, because with football season comes my love of cheap wine. Awe who am I kidding, I love cheap wine anytime. 

This may or may not be my last or only blog this season about LSU football.  Mrs. Jaubert would be happy if this never existed.  I can remember getting to Louisiana Tech and having to do a project on a piece of architecture was significant to us…I did mine on the evolution of tiger stadium.  Everything that came out of my mouth was LSU there for a while.  Dont’ get me wrong, I am proud to be a bulldog, but there was/is something about Louisiana Saturday Nights in Baton Rouge that still sends chills down my spine and goose bumps down my arms. 

till next time…Go Tigers, here’s to beating BAMA!

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

Lagniappe:  I really have not a clue what I am talking about when I speak of the actual game, so for that I suggest you go check out Mr. Gomila’s blogs at And the Valley Shook.

One response to “chinese bandits

  1. I cannot help it- I heart LA Tech, we may not be national champions, but I love them like we were. LSU sucks, always has, always will, but I do love their best export yet- Whitney Garland. I am so glad they gave her to us even though she, like many, insisted on wearing gold and purple on the LA Tech campus- epic fail! 🙂

Leave a Reply

