smakerel of [________]

Once upon a time I found myself lying in a hammock in a perfect state of nothingness.  It was right about the time I started this little adventure of a blog.  It was right about the time I picked up Eat, Love, Pray and fell in love with the book.  I fell in love with the phrase, “il bel far niente.”  That entry now serves as a time capsule to how this website has evolved from a blog of personal stories to, an adventure of personal creations in food, words, self-examination, and taste. Maybe that is the same thing, but my pride will not allow me to believe that.  One thing that has not changed is my relentless search of the “art of doing nothing.”  That search has coincided with my search for Epic-ness. At some point I suggested the epic lies in the art of nothing.  I have an old friend to thank for that self-discovery.  I talk in circles though, so sometimes I know not what I speak of. This all comes tonight because I made a very special connection on facebook.  Oh-Golly-Gee I love me some facebook!  I made a connection with none other than Winnie the Pooh!

On that ole bear’s wall he had a great video. That video spoke to the very heart of me.  It was exactly what I needed to hear at this very moment…

I could get into all the reasons I needed to see this video right at that moment, but you can put two and two together. I am going to stay on task, however…the art of doing nothing.

I have spread myself so thin lately.  I don’t sleep. I keep myself away trying to figure out how in the world I am going to accomplish all the things I dream of doing.  I wonder where in the world I am going to take my physical creations. How I am going to get all the bills paid off.  When the to-do list ends.  When the laundry is going to get done.  When I am going to start saying no to this and yes to that.  When gas prices will go down. When I will bite the bullet and actually buy the new car.  I wish that the world worked on my time schedule, and they don’t, but then again, many times, they wish I worked on theirs.  Point is my mind is on overload, my hands are overwhelmed.

This week, I had big plans of living it up as it is within the 14 days of Whitney.  Instead I have busted my butt during the day, while somewhat treating myself with treats like Carpe Diem (this will be a story for tomorrow or tonight), and stayed up doing laundry, taking care of dogs, and working out at night.  The one night that I was planning on crashing early, friend duty called and then I woke up feeling like poop.  I don’t know if it was my body revolting, but I took the hint. I went to my morning meeting, canceled my weekend plans (much to my Monkey’s dismay-I heart you Monkey Moo) and tonight…I practiced the art of doing nothing.

My art of doing nothing included Quiche, 6 farm to oven peaches, and The Kennedy’s. Till you get the recipes…

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

Lil Lagniappe:  I can’t wait to see the movie!  Can not wait!

Leave a Reply

