define it

{I wish I could find the original home of this doodle.  I found it pinned many times on Pinterest.  If you are the artist, I would love to give you credit!}

As I sat after a long grueling game of football with the gals, we got to talk about the guys, the relationships, the fun, the un-fun…and all things girls should usually do over libations, not while sweating, covered in dirt from prior games, and some with ice packs.  Alas, we are girls and girls will be girls.  It got me thinking though: Do guys analyze the relationship, the signals, the lack of signals?  How do you keep your heart in the game and your feet on the ground? What is it that more importantly keeps us walking back up to the crush we see across a room and say, “Hi” ?

I am by far not a relationship expert.  I definitely don’t have the answers to the above questions, and God knows I have loved. I have fallen in love with a boy. I have fallen in love with a dream of painting, creating, writing.  I have fallen in love with a child.  I have fallen in love with a friendship.  I have had an amazing relationships and I have watched them crumble and I always go back for more eventually.  I have watched relationships succeed; I have idolized some people’s and loathed others. I have had the “Away we Go” feeling of no one could be more in love than we are right now, I have learned…that I am not special. What I have learned in all this:  I have always been under the impression that you should take life and love into your own hands. If you want a job, make it yours. If you want a boy/girl make room for them.  If you think they are adorable, make it a point to get to know them.  If you want to kiss them, kiss them.  If you don’t than don’t. If you are looking for someone to fill a void, they won’t.  I believe in simple truths and the power of cliché.  After all isn’t all the love/relationship blog post is, a big fat cliché? 

With all this said, I came home from a long day of football and great conversations and it was the furthest thing from my mind.  I decided to catch up on my google reader, pinterest, and watch a movie.I found something very interesting, it seems as if the whole of the world-wide web is obsessed with the idea of love, relationships, and full of hope.  I couldn’t scroll down on pinterest without seeing someone pin about love or the lack there of.  Every other blog in my google reader seemed to talk of love, relationships, etc….and these are design and art blogs.  It brough to mind my conversation with the others.  I dug deeper into the cliche’s…into the conversations had prior and here are some of my favorite quotes:

“The real lover is the man who can thrill you by kissing you on the forehead.” Marilyn Monroe

“You may not be the first, the last, or the only. She loved before, she may love again. But if she loves you now, what else matters? She’s not perfect – you aren’t either, and the two of you may never be perfect together but if she can make you laugh, cause you to think twice, and admit to being human and making mistakes, hold onto her and give her the most you can. She may not be thinking about you every second of the day, but she will give you a part of her that she knows you can break – her heart. So don’t hurt her, don’t change her, don’t analyze and don’t expect more than she can give. Smile when she makes you happy, let her know when she makes you mad, and miss her when she’s not there.” Bob Marley

“Your journey has molded you for the greater good.  It was exactly what it needed to be.  Don’t think you’ve lost time.  It took each and every situation you have encountered to bring you to the now.  And now IS RIGHT ON TIME” Asha Tyson

“When everything feels all over. Everyone seems unkind.  I’d give you a four-leaf clover, take all the worry out of your mind. Let my love open the door.   Let my love open the door. Let my love open the door to your heart.”  Pete Townsend

“Only love can make it rain…Love, reign o’er me.” The Who (side note…one of my favorite love songs of all time.  In my movie, this is on the soundtrack.)

I write all this and share these not because it is the innermost workings of my heart, but because it begs the thought…when we find inspiration in another human being, in art,  in a song, in a cliché,  in a job, in a moment and when we let our guard down just long enough to own that inspiration–it seems to me that is love.  The kind of love that says, walk up and say “Hi,” the love that put a paint brush in Picasso’s hand, the love that got Clapton strumming, that keeps us going back to the same ole’ words and ideals, that tells us to hit the send button to the job that we would kill for, and the love that has us making memories out of moments.  It is that kind of inspiration, that kind of love, that is epic. That love is a paper rainbow.

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

lagniappe: tomorrow no sappy post.  I have a long day of work, and Eat Lafayette, so be prepared for the onset of cravings, when I share all my adventures from the local tastings of this great city. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

