just off St. Mary

In 20o9 I was taken to an amazing event at the Paul and Lulu Hilliard Art Museum on the University of Louisiana Lafayette’s campus–the Acadiana Wine and Food Festival.  It was amazing.  The grounds, beautiful.  The food wonderful.  The wine, well of course great.  I remember meeting dancing on the grounds and roaming around the museum.  It was the first amazing experience I had in Lafayette.   After I put my name on the mailing list for events at the Hilliard.  Many a months later I read that they were looking for volunteers for an event.  I put my name in the hat…the rest…errrr…will be, history.

Once I put my name in the hat, I found myself fulfilling a little part of my soul that hadn’t been filled in a very long time.  Once one event was done, along came another–and that things come full circle in my little journey to make Lafayette my home.  Next event I tackle with the Hilliard, the 2011 Acadiana Wine and Food Festival. 

This year, the event will be 3 days.  Everything still being planned, but it looks as if there will be a sit down dinner, a wine stroll, cooking demonstrations, local art, a grand tasting, local restaurants, live music, and much more.  I could not be more excited and flattered to be a part of this. 

You can check out pictures of the last event here.  Soon there will be a website and facebook page specifically for the festival.  Please check back to get linked up.  You can follow the Hilliard Art Museum on twitter or on facebook.  Of course you can also visit the museum website here as well!

Thanks for taking the little journey in the discovery of my new home.

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

Leave a Reply

