Epic Adventure 1

People often ask me what I want to do.  I really don’t have a good answer for them, except, I want to be EPIC.  I don’t really know what this means quite yet.  I know bits and pieces and I journal . I make diagrams and blueprints to the EPIC-ness, but I still don’t have  a handle on what the final destination of EPIC will be. 

About 5 years ago I lived in Houston.  It was a rough time.  Most/all of the problems I brought on myself, but one thing I did do was start going to St. Luke’s Methodist Church over there.  I knew I was at the right service when Dr. Pace gave a sermon about what it was to be a United Methodist.  He spoke of how God gave us hands, a head, and a heart.  We were to use them all.  I think the destination in my EPIC journey lies somewhere in the combination of those. 

On Saturday I had the extreme pleasure of meeting Bret & Lori of Sundown in the South.  Sundown in the South is an animal sanctuary that rescues all sorts of animals from spanish goats to turtles to bearded dragons to cute foxes to what I call monkey-cats to wallabies.  Most of the time people decide these would be cool pets to have not realizing “wild” animals are not always the best pets to keep in the home.  While there helped do everything from take the bearded dragons swimming, to cleaning cages, to herding ducks into their new home, to building and pouring a slab, to just flat playing with goats and wallabies.  It was an amazingly EPIC experience. 

While there I also learned about what it takes to run a sanctuary like this.  It takes a lot of hard work, money,  and volunteer hours. To help support the sanctuary they host something called Zoo-Zoom, a little traveling educational zoo.  They go to schools, birthday parties, libraries, etc.  It’s a hit everywhere, with the turtles, wallabies, rabbits, and any other animals they decide to take along for the adventure.  I kind of want to have a kid’s birthday party just so I can have the zoo at my house. 

With all this said, you can find more information about how you can help here.  If you are a local business in the area and would like to donate building supplies, fruit, pet food, etc. Please contact me.  I will let you know how.  This is a great way to support local!  If you are just a gal or guy like me and want to help, be it manpower, or donation of some sort, contact me.  One awesome 9 hour day was all it took for me to be totally in love with this place, I can pretty much guarantee the same would happen for you.  Be EPIC

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

Leave a Reply

