when you call me, you can call me…

Let’s talk about slumps/writers block/creative block.  I have come to the undeniable conclusion that I live in a slump.  I have many theories on why, but that is not the topic at hand.  I am completely convinced that the key to getting out of any creative slump is a great musical playlist. In that spirit I thought I would share some of my favorites for when I need to zone in and get things done. 

Disclaimer: I only share this with you in trust that you will not laugh or mock.  Also note that my playlist would probably be about 100 songs longer, but for the sake of this post, I will keep it short. 

1- ToTo “Africa”  I have shared this video before of the take on the song by, Perpetuum Jazzile.  “Oh-My-Awesomeness!”

2- Keri Hilson “Knock You Down”

3- Ray LaMontagne “You are the best thing.”  Truth be told, Ray is one of my favorites.  This song however, just gives me the warm fuzzies!

4- Brandi Carlile “Closer to You”

5- Bob Marley “Three Little Birds” How could this song not get you up and moving?!

6- Dolly Parton “Jolene” Besides the fact that I love this song, how could you not love this video. 

7- Greg Allman “I’m no Angel”  This brings back so many memories of late nights in the design studio.  This and:

8- Harry Nilsson “Put the Lime in the Coconut”  I absolutely love this video too.  Who wouldn’t love apes playing. 

9- Kings of Leon “Revelry” This song would honestly hit every playlist I have.  I don’t know why I feel so inspired/drawn to this song.

10- B.o.B ft. Haley Williams “Airplanes” 

I think 10 songs is good for now.  I could go on forever, but this’ll do for now. Enjoy!

…lifetimes of paper rainbows…W

P.S. There is one song I left off, that titles this whole post.  10 meaningless points to those that can name the artist & one other song that is in my iTunes.

Leave a Reply

