something new

 

{finished business cards and great thank you card from Rosemary

A little bit ago a dear friend of mine contacted me about putting together some new marketing material for her personal assistant business.  I had never done graphics for hire before.  It was a new and rewarding experience.  It has since led to working on some marketing for my friend and her cakery.  I have learned a lot in this little adventure.  For the first time it has got me thinking about the things I would like to do as an individual.  How do I want to market myself, not just in a business sense, but in a life sense.  I have thought about these things before…but today, I think about it some more.  Life has taken opportunities away and recently put others in front of me.  

I want to paint. I want to go to the art supply store and stock up my depleted stock of paints, find some great canvas(be it canvas or a piece of wood), stock up on the things needed and for the first time paint a series.  I want to paint a family of art.  A family that is different, but has the common thread…a series.  I want to take this series and do an art walk.  That’s what I want.  Preferably this series would follow the story line of my children’s book so that I would finally have an illustrated children’s book.  

Speaking of the book, I think it is time to share a blurb:  

Her favorite was when people would have crawfish boils and play music. Even the crawfish on the table seemed to dance a wee bit among the potatoes and corn.  It was the only place she knew where it was perfectly acceptable to eat way too much and dance at the same time. 

I will stock up the paints.  I will organize my thoughts. I will market myself, my life. I will define myself the way that I want to be defined…as soon as I figure out how that is.  It was said best in a conversation tonight with a pal, “I just don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.”  Is 27 grown up?  Am I really supposed to do just one thing for the rest of my life? 

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W the defined artichoke 

Leave a Reply

