infinite playlist of an artichoke

I was on my way home today after an amazing weekend.  Friday it was dinner with my bro, hanging in laffy taffy, and going back to the ripe ole’ age of 18 for one night.  Then it was on my way to Shreveport to see old friends and to celebrate the newly married Mr. and Mrs. Read!

cake2I know they are beautiful!

I thought there would be a way to sum up this weekend in words, but alas for all the thinking that being on the road for a grand total of about 12 hours, has exhausted all the words I could put together. So instead I am going to first share my playlist of the weekend.  Each song for my old friends that I touched base with this weekend.  In chronological order!

1. All These Things I’ve Done

2. Good Girls Gone Bad

3. Cape Canaveral

4. Murder in the City

5. Waterfall

A lot of thinking went on in the car this weekend.  Which is not unusual as my brain works about 90 to nothing.  The last half of the drive I cried for 20 minutes out of pure exhaustion from many late nights and semi-early mornings, out of frustration in myself, and a sense of pure overwhelming fear of what the future holds.  As it is, I am my own worst enemy.  I doubt everything and find myself being sure of the things that are sure to be the biggest risk.  They tend to be the dreams I hold onto.  I cried and told myself to calm down and don’t stress.  I back tracked to the stories, to all the things said, good and bad.  I tried to make a bullet point list.  I came to a point that I stopped.  I have been saying the same prayer lately, It goes like this:

“Thank you.  Thank you for the gifts you have given me in my life.  Lord, I pray that you will be there when he feels like the road is too steep.  I pray that you will be there for her when the kids don’t behave through the day. I pray that you will allow his logic to catch up with his heart. I pray that you will give me the strength to keep the faith in you, him, and my decisions.  I pray that you will strengthen my armor, because I think I am about to go into battle. A battle for my heart, my passions, my creations, my future.  I pray that you will help me to see the hope in everyday. I pray that you will show all of my friends the hope in everyday, the promise in everyday. You have been so good to me.  Thank you.

Oh and ps…Tell nana, papaw, and of course daddy, I miss them everyday. “

I took a turn off the interstate today. I saw this through my tears:

rainbow913

I got chills and it was a humbling reminder that there are no unheard prayers. There are no unanswered prayers. There may be meladramatic girls who over think everything, but at the end of the day there is faith, love, and HOPE.

Wishing you a lifetime of paper rainbows and smooth peanut butter…W the tired lil’ artichoke

Leave a Reply

