(wish subject)

wishbone

“He probably was.  Your problem is you don’t understand what that word means.  People think a soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants.  But a true soul mate is a mirror, the person who shows you everything that is holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change your life.  A true soul mate is probably the most important person you’ll ever meet, because they tear down your walls and smack you awake.  But to live with a soul mate forever? Nah. Too painful.  Soul mates, they come into your life just to reveal another layer of yourself to you, and then they leave.  And thank God for it.  Your problem is, you just can’t let this one go…You’re wishing too much, baby.  You gotta stop wearing your wishbone where your backbone oughtta be.”

This was probably the most revealing exerpt from my book, Eat, Pray, Live.  I have felt like Liz and I were living the same life so many times, I have had to put the book down and just stare at it.  I give it that gaze that says, “How did you know what I was thinking?  Who are you? Who sent you? Did THEY send you?”  The THEY I am referring to is the “they” people refer to when one says, “Well, you know what THEY say(insert random annoying quote here).”  Sometimes I want to be like, “Yeah I know what THEY say, and THEY are about to get a foot up there bleep bleep bleep.”  None the less, this book…it is deep, like really deep.  Liz is just as random as me and finds joy in the most random of things.  She is fueled by emotion just as I, and it makes me happy to know that there is another in this world.  With all this said…above is my bittie art.  I indeed am lacking a back bone and instead have a wishbone.  The end.

lifetimes of paper rainbows…W the wisher

Leave a Reply

