(looking glass subject)

When I was given this by dear sweet Paris I instantly thought of a architecture studio back in 2005.  It was in the beginning of a project. We had to make concept boards. This then brought up all kinds of memories of those architecture days and all the things I was told and things I wanted to say.  I left off one which was pretty much, “conceptualize my foot up your butt.”  Looking back, I am glad I didn’t say that, but late nights and sometimes all nighters, can put your emotions on the brink of insanity.  None the less, I am glad I thought of this because this is when Paris and I bonded over Quiznos, sweet dance moves, and our love of broccoli and cheese soup.  Not my best work, but now that this blog has become my sketch book, I am strangely okay with challenges that are not my favorite.  The little challenges keep my mind sharp and create a place for this artistic and design frustration that has inhabited my head in the past 3 years since I graduated. 

through the looking glass copy

Wishing you a lifetime of paper rainbows and smooth peanut butter…W the retired architecture student

2 responses to “(looking glass subject)

  1. I heart you, Layla. I really do! Oh how I miss broccoli & cheese soup… and you telling me it’s not “healthy” just because it has broccoli in it! haha I love this design!! Brings back a lot of memories for me, too! 🙂 You’re fabulous.

  2. I was just looking at your blog… and reading this entry again (I’m hooked & can’t wait till the next one). And I completely remember those concepts boards… most specifically the “Whole Foods” one. I had never been more frustrated in my life!!! I remember how beautiful mine was… and the red-headed demon hated it! bahahaha (That’s an accurate description of him, right?) Anyway… I think if I had a “saying”, mine would be “Wishing you a lifetime of broccoli & cheese soup….PaRiS”! 🙂 HA HA Have a good day! Soooo glad it’s Friday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

