(mj subject)

I wondered if I would write this post. I wondered if I would feed into the frenzy.  Truth be told I did not know Michael Jackson, go figure.  His music didn’t move me.  He didn’t have a profound impact on my life.  I will say this, each and every person has made a profound impact on someone, and for that reason I have not written this.  I do not know what kind of person he was. I do not know what kind of son, brother, or father he was.  I do know that there are three kids without a father.  This breaks my heart.  I know that on those children’s life he made a profound impact. 

With all this said, let me talk about the people who have made a profound impact on my life.  Her name is Terry.  She is for now a 4th grade teacher.  She used to teach 6th grade. Before that, she taught kids at risk of dropping out of school.  Before that, she taught special education.  She has been teaching 30 years now.  I can not begin to count the number of students that have walked in and out of her classroom.  When she leaves this world, I can only pray that people will respect the profound impact she has had on this world.  Terry is just an everyday mom and teacher.  You won’t see her on the tabloid covers or on CNN, but be sure that she made an impact. 

I have friends who’s husbands have joined the Navy, the Marines, the Army, etc.  Those husbands are someones son, brother, father.  Sometimes those husbands are not husbands they are wives, sisters, mothers, etc.  Each day they are fighting for a liberty, diplomacy, freedom that we take for granted.  I take for granted. On the Memorial Day, I am planning my 3 day weekend and often forgetting why the day exists.  Each year on the 4th, I tell a story of how I was due on the 4th but held off 10 days to wait till Bastille day.  I vote every 4 years for a president that up until this year, I did based on what my friends were voting. It wasn’t until two years ago with the hype of Obama/Clinton/McCain that I really researched wether I was a Republican or Democrat.  I am not a great American. I have not showed a lot of pride, but I am truly blessed.  I am blessed that I could so hap-hazardly take almost 10 years to decide what I believed in, because of men and women fighting and dying for my lazy lifestyle.  They are just everyday men and women who fight and die for every single citizen in this country. They impact the lives of not 1 person, not 100 or even 1000, but the entire 300 million plus people in this country, and yet still, you do not see them on the cover of magazines in the check out stand. You do not see celebrities playing at their funerals or their memorials taking place in arenas.  Instead you see the klan of Westboro Baptist Church picketing their funerals. 

So while I wish to take nothing away from the impact that one man made on the lives of his children, his family, and anyone else who was blessed to have him in their lives, I have to wonder why tax payers are being asked via twitter for donations.  Where are the donations for memorials for our teachers, our soldiers, our mothers, our daughters?  I am just wondering…what is wrong with this picture?

4 responses to “(mj subject)

  1. You know, I found myself thinking about that as well today. MJ clearly impacted many lives, but was it enough of an impact to make a public media frenzy when it should have been very private? I honestly thought all those people crowding streets of LA without tickets standing around “to be part of the great moment” in history needed to get a hobby. I went to work today and only considered MJ scenario once when I thought about the family he left behind.

  2. There are so many things that I have said about this, all of them ranging from sympathetic to vituperative. In true Dr. Snarky fashion, I even had arguments about it. But right now I can say thank you for saying this the way that you did, and know that I agree so whole-heartedly with your sentiment that I have yelled at a television.

    I long for the day when MSNBC is no longer MJNBC, and when CNN stands for Cable News Network instead of Celebrity News Network…when the trending topics on Twitter are no longer dominated by expressions of sympathy from people who never met the man they are expressing sympathies for. It’s very tragic. Every death is tragic. But this is a death in a bubble, as it were. Nobody’s way-of-life or very life, itself, was hinging upon this one man.

    I want to know about things that really matter…struggles for freedom, battles for basic health care, labor rights, and civil rights in our country….

  3. i don’t have any 24 hour news networks, so i guess i’ve been kept from being beaten over the head with MJ stuff. ever since he died, i’ve been listening to his stuff (Thriller was the first album of anything i ever got and it was on vinyl!) remembering how ground breaking he was. the more i read about him on wiki, and the meanings behind the songs, i realized how alone he was. he was abused as a kid by his dad, and then even when he became successful, people would take advantage of him when he tried to be friends with them. he had more of an impact on people than just music (ie We Are The World). he was such a tragic figure, and yet no one (at least what i’ve read) talked about that, only about how great his music was. i agree the media has made his death more of a circus than it needs to be, but that’s not MJ’s fault. people flying from Spain to go to the ceremony, they need to wake up and stop idolizing a person like that.

  4. jUST TO CLARIFY TO ALL…MICHAEL JACKSON WAS A GREAT TALENT. HE MAY HAVE BEEN VERY ALONE AND HAD A LOT OF HEARTACHE. THIS IS TRAGIC. THIS DOES NOT MAKE IT OKAY IN ANY WAY SHAPE FORM OR FASHION FOR THE ELECTED OFFICIALS OF A STATE THAT IS SO FAR IN DEBT THEY ARE CUTTING SOCIAL WORK TO BE ASKING FOR MONEY FOR A CELEBRITY FUNERAL. THE END.

Leave a Reply

