(favorites subject)

pageWhen I was little I watched “Sound of Music.”  I love it…I think I loved it because it reminded me of “Mary Poppins” (because it had the same actress) and Mary and I had a special connection. I played Mary Poppins in the kindergarten play.  I know you are impressed.  My mom even made me an umbrella with the little parrot on it.  Now I have a point…there is the song, “…these are a few of my favorite things.” I have been in a rut lately. Which has seemed the norm for the majority of my twenties. Now this is not a rut like…down in the dumps…it is more like finding my harmony.  That musical rhythm that gets us through the day.  That bounce in our step. Then bang in “a bang for your buck.” So in all this thinking…I have to wonder, what is it that it factor that put the bounce in my step, the bang in my buck, and the rhythm in my day?

I don’t have the answer. I am still searching, but in the mean time, I am trying to pay more attention to the things along the path.  They become a few of my favorite things. Penguins in the margins. Houses going up in NOLA. Matinee movies.  Einstein in the streets. My dog. Swings in the park.  Things like this would put the bounce in anyone’s step I am convinced.  They are paper rainbows in this world.

wishing you a lifetime of paper rainbows and smooth peanut butter…W the Artichoke

Leave a Reply

